Cowabunga!!! (I swear spell check didn’t even flinch…)

*Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles*

*Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles*

*Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles* 

*Heroes in a half shell, TURTLE POWER!!!*TMNT01

Surely you have heard their theme song, if you have you know the music, you definitely know the words (see above), you should know their names, you once owned or even still own at least one TMNT action figure, you might have played or bought a TMNT video game, and you have more than likely watched at least one episode or movie featuring them by now.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The title speaks for itself. Their ’80s style verbiage is laced throughout the lexicon. Without a doubt, they are pop culture icons. They started out as a comic book, grew into a Saturday morning cartoon, became the hottest arcade cabinet, went on to conquer the box office, took a break, and then came back and did it all over again a second time. During all this, they were re-imagined as a rock band that helped kids learn to read through the Pizza Hut promotion Book It and were interviewed on The Oprah Winfrey Show. I’m pretty sure it is safe to say that as long as there are kids in the world somewhere with access to a book, a screen, or a joystick, the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles will live on.

I am a little shocked to see them around still. A number of things from my childhood that I have thought about while doing this blog that still thrives are limited.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I remember watching the cartoon every chance I had. Leonardo, Donatello, Michelangelo, and Raphael lead by Splinter were the gateway to so many things in my life. My love for cartoons, my interest in martial arts, they helped with my comic timing, inspired my very short-lived attempt at being a skateboarder, were a driving force behind the amount of pizza I’ve consumed, and I once even had a Birthday cake that looked like Donatello.

The amount of TMNT paraphernalia I have had throughout my lifetime could fill up a room easily. Action figures, games, books, and even bedsheets. I was definitely a fan. The way that you can tell if something has true reach, is if you can find some evidence of it in a town in the middle of nowhere with fewer than 2,000 people living there. I grew up in such a place.

The turtles played a huge role in my childhood and whenever I see any iteration of them in books, games, TV shows, or movies it definitely takes me back in time.

TMNT11

 


Leave a Reply

